Nomination process for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka is set for today

Today marks the beginning of the nomination process for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka, as the notification for the election of 14 constituencies is scheduled to be released. In the Kalaburagi reserve constituency, Congress’s Radhakrishna Doddamani is expected to file his nomination papers on the first day, with AICC president Mallikarjuna Kharge, KPCC president D.K. Shivakumar, and others present.

Similarly, E. Tukaram will file his nomination in the Bellary reserved constituency.

Notable candidates in the second phase include former CMs Jagdish Shettar in Belagavi, Basavaraj Bommai in Haveri Constituency, and Union Minister Pralhad Joshi in Dharwad Constituency, all representing the BJP.

Voting in the second phase will cover constituencies such as Uttara Kannada, Shivamogga, Davanagere, Kalyana, and Kittur. The BJP-JDS alliance has shared constituencies, with no constituencies ceded to JDS in the second phase, leading to direct competition between Congress and BJP in all 14 constituencies. However, there is a possibility of a three-way contest if candidates who have shown rebellion in four constituencies file their nomination papers.

Both the ruling Congress in the state and the ruling BJP at the centre view this election as a matter of prestige, particularly in constituencies like Shivaogga and Dharwad for BJP, and Bagalkote and Davangere for Congress.

Phase 2 Constituencies include Chikkodi, Belagavi, Bagalkote, Vijayapura, Kalaburagi, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davangere, and Shivamogga.

The election schedule is as follows:
April 12: Notification
April 19: Last day for submission of nomination papers
April 20: Scrutiny of nomination papers
April 22: Last day to withdraw nomination papers
May 7: Voting
June 4: Counting of votes

Additionally, the notification for the by-election of Surpura ST reserved constituency will also be released on Friday, following the same schedule as the second phase of the general election in the state.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video