BJP has released the list of 195 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections

BJP has released the first list of 195 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. In the first list, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will contest from Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi, while Union Home Minister Amit Shah will contest from Gujarat’s Gandhi Nagar.

Hema Malini, Smriti Irani, Rajnath Singh from Mathura, and Rajeev Chandrasekhar, who was a Rajya Sabha member from Karnataka, were given tickets from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. The first list does not contain the name of any candidate from Karnataka.

The first list includes 34 Union Ministers and two former Chief Ministers. There are 28 women among those who got tickets. Out of 195, 51 are from Uttar Pradesh. 20 West Bengal and 5 Delhi candidates have been given tickets.

Candidates have been announced for 51 seats from Uttar Pradesh, 20 from West Bengal, 24 from Madhya Pradesh, 15 each from Gujarat and Rajasthan, 12 from Kerala, 9 from Telangana, 11 from Assam, 11 each from Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh. 5 candidates have been announced from Delhi, 2 from Jammu Kashmir, 3 from Uttarakhand, 2 from Arunachal Pradesh and 1 each from Goa, Tripura, Andaman and Nicobar and Daman and Diu.

This is the third time that PM Modi is contesting from the Varanasi constituency. In 2014, he defeated AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal and in 2019 he won against Samajwadi Party’s Shalini Yadav.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video