Breaking News: 10 BJP MPs Who Won State Assembly Elections Resign

Jaipur: 10 of the 14 MPs who won the assembly elections in the three states of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh resigned from their Lok Sabha seats on Wednesday.

A delegation of MPs led by BJP chief JP Nadda met the Speaker and submitted their resignations.

Among those who met the Speaker were Union Ministers Narendra Tomar, and Prahlad Patel and MPs Riti Pathak, Rakesh Singh, and Uday Pratap Singh (Madhya Pradesh). From Rajasthan, MPs who submitted their resignations include Rajyavardhan Rathore, Kirodi Lal Meena, and Diya Kumari, while Arun Sao and Gomati Sai were MPs from Chhattisgarh.

After resigning from his MP seat, BJP leader Prahlad Patel, who won from Narsinghpur constituency in Madhya Pradesh assembly elections, said, “I resigned as Lok Sabha MP after meeting BJP President JP Nadda. Soon I will also resign from the cabinet,” he said.

The remaining two BJP MPs, Baba Balakanath and Renuka Singh, who were elected to the assembly, are yet to submit their resignations.

Telangana Chief Minister-designate Revanth Reddy and Uttam Kumar Reddy, elected by the Congress, are also members of the Lok Sabha and have to resign from their posts within 14 days.

While the BJP won in Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, and Madhya Pradesh, the Congress won in Telangana.

The chief ministers of Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana have submitted their resignations to their governors.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video