CM BSY does minor reshuffle of his cabinet

Bengaluru:  A day after assigning ministerial berths to new seven ministers, Chief Minister BS Yeddiyurappa reshuffled his cabinet on Friday, an official notification issued by the Governor said.

K Gopalayya has been assigned the Excise department, and R Shankar, who has been entrusted with Municipal Administration and Sericulture. Nagaraj, who was formerly with the Congress, and Shankar, an Independent MLA, were elected to the legislative council in line with a promise made by the ruling BJP to reward them for switching sides. They were two of 17 MLAs who linked their lot with the BJP in 2019, resulting in the eventual fall of the Congress-JDS coalition.

Eight-time BJP MLA Umesh Katti will take charge as the minister for food, civil supplies and consumer affairs, while S Angara, who has been elected to the House for the sixth time, has been allocated the department of fisheries, ports and inland transport.

The Karnataka government on Thursday announced the allocation of portfolios to the seven ministers who were inducted into the cabinet on January 13.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video