Second meeting of opposition parties in Bengaluru: Leaders of 24 parties involved

The opposition parties will hold a second meeting in Bengaluru next week to strategize to defeat the BJP in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. On Wednesday, leaders of 24 opposition parties were invited to the meeting.

The Aam Aadmi Party said it would decide whether to attend the meeting only after the Congress clarified its stand on the Centre’s ordinance that wrested control of administrative services from the Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi government.

Leaders of 15 parties participated in the first opposition meeting held in Patna on June 23.

AAP had declared that it would be “very difficult” to be part of any alliance as the Congress did not publicly oppose the ordinance.

The new parties to participate in the second meeting in Bangalore on July 17 are: Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kalagam, Kongunadu Makkal Desiya Katchi, Vidutalai Chirutaigal Katchi, Krantikari Samajwadi Party, All India Forward Bloc, Indian Union Muslim League, Kerala Congress (Joseph) and Kerala Congress (Mani).

Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kalagam and Kongunadu Makkal Desiya Katchi were allies of BJP in the 2014 elections.

In next week’s meeting, the non-BJP parties may discuss the details of the opposition’s name and seat allocation. Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi will attend the meeting.

The 24 opposition parties together have around 150 Lok Sabha members and are trying to expand their base, reported.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video