Shivraj Singh Chouhan resigns as Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister after BJP has announces With Mohan Yadav as its surprise pick to Replace Chauhan in MP

Bhopal: Senior BJP leader Shivraj Singh Chouhan on Monday tendered his resignation as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. Chouhan, along with CM-designate Mohan Yadav and other party leaders, met Madhya Pradesh Governor Mangubhai C Patel at Raj Bhavan in Bhopal, He tendered his resignation to the Governor.

The BJP on Monday picked Ujjain South MLA Mohan Yadav as the new chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. He will succeed four-time CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

The decision was taken at the BJP’s legislature party meeting in Bhopal in the presence of the three central observers: Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar, OBC Morcha head K Laxman and secretary Asha Lakra.

Who is Mohan Yadav?
Yadav, 58, is a three-time MLA from the Ujjain South constituency in Madhya Pradesh.

In the recent elections, he retained his seat by defeating his Congress rival Chetan Premnarayan Yadav by nearly 13,000 votes.

He has served as the education minister in the outgoing Shivraj Chouhan government.

The MP CM-designate became MLA for the first time in 2013 from Ujjain South. He retained the seat in 2018 assembly elections.

“My victory with more than 13,000 votes is dedicated with full humility to every person of my area, every dear sister, every godlike worker of BJP and the organization of BJP.

Thank you, thank you, gratitude to everyone for your immense affection, immense love and blessings,” Yadav had posted on X after his recent victory.

Yadav is considered to be close to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

He is also a prominent leader of OBCs, who account for more than 48 per cent of the state’s population.

With Mohan Yadav as its surprise pick, BJP has again reposed its faith in OBC leaders in MP. Former CMs Uma Bharti, Babulal Gaur and Shivraj Chouhan belong to the OBC category.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video