Punjab: In a sudden political development governor Banwarilal Purohit resigned

In a sudden political development in Aam Aadmi-ruled Punjab, Governor Banwarilal Purohit has resigned today (February 3).

83-year-old Banwarilal Purohit has sent his resignation letter to President Draupadi Murmu and requested him to accept it.

Banwarilal Purohit has resigned from the post of Governor of Punjab as well as Chief Administrative Officer of Chandigarh. As Chandigarh is a Union Territory, its administrative responsibility is the responsibility of the Governor of Punjab.

Banwarilal Purohit said that he will resign from the post of Governor due to personal and other obligations. With the resignation of Banwarilal Purohit, who has been serving as the Governor of Punjab since September 9, 2021, the central government is forced to appoint a new Governor.

In Punjab, there is a fight between the India Maitri coalition. The Aam Aadmi Party has made it clear that it will fight alone for the Lok Sabha elections without any alliance. Also, the governor has submitted his resignation amid massive protests by the Aam Aadmi Party, accusing the BJP of illegal conduct in the Chandigarh mayoral election.

He was engaged in a long-running battle with the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government in Punjab. He used to write a series of letters to Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann seeking clarification on various issues related to the state. The AAP government had accused the central government of using the governor as a shield and trying to destabilize the government.

Before serving as the Governor of Punjab, Banwarilal Purohit served as the Governor of Tamil Nadu and Assam.

He served as the Governor of Tamil Nadu from 2017 to 2021 and as the Governor of Assam from 2026 to 2017. Banwarilal, who was a Congress leader, joined the BJP during LK Advani’s Ramjanmabhoomi Rath Yatra in 1991.

An active member of the Bharatiya Janata Party since 1991, he was defeated on BJP ticket in 1996 and 1999. Later, in 2003, he left the BJP and founded the Vidarbha Raj Party and was defeated again. He joined the BJP again in 2009.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video