Test Squad brings Shreyas Iyer back, no place for Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara

Shreyas Iyer had made his return to the Indian test squad as the senior selection committee has picked a strong team for the upcoming two-match Test which is set to play against South Africa. The tests against West Indies which is scheduled in July. On the other hand, Ajinkya Rahane is missing who has been dropped from the team which will be captained by Rohit Sharma.

After the limited-overs leg, which includes three T20Is and as many ODIs, India and South Africa are determined to play two Tests at Johannesburg and Centurion on December 26 and January 3. It is for the first time after the 2010 Test series, India will be without Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara in the 11 member squad with the middle-order likely to be changed.

Although, there are no surprise inclusions or omissions in the 11-member Test squad. The pace unit will also witness the trio of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami who will come together for the first time since the one-off Test against England in 2022.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video