UAE bans citizens from travelling to 14 countries, including India, Pakistan and some other countries

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) announced on Thursday, travel ban on citizens of visited India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, Namibia, Zambia, Congo, Uganda, Sierra Leone, Liberia, South Africa and Nigeria, according to the state news agency (WAM).

The WAM added that The Foreign Ministry and the National Emergency, Crisis and Disaster Management Authority stressed that with the start of the travel season, citizens need to take all precautionary and safety measures related to Covid-19.

In a notice to the airmen on Sunday, the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) said entry to 13 countries, including India and Pakistan, was banned due to the coronavirus epidemic.

Dubai had said on June 19 that the ban on entry to India, Nigeria and South Africa for the past 14 days would be eased from June 23.

Under the changes, UAE residents who have been fully vaccinated against the coronavirus will be allowed to enter India, anyone in South Africa who has been fully vaccinated and those in Nigeria who had negative test for coronavirus in the last 48 hours.

A GCAA spokesman said on Sunday that travelers from India were still barred from entering the UAE but declined to comment further to the Dubai government.

The Dubai media office did not immediately respond to an emailed request for comment.

The Emirates airline in Dubai said on Twitter, since July 7 flights from India had been available but warned that this could change.

“We are waiting for the exact travel protocol and guidelines before embarking on the journey again.”

Indians represent one of the largest residential community in the UAE and are the biggest source market for tourists.

Dubai reopened its borders to foreign visitors in July, while Abu Dhabi needs quarantine from most countries arrivals.

The national ban on entry from India began in April when India faced an increase in coronavirus infections.

Some people, such as UAE citizens and diplomats, have been exempted from the entry bans.

Latest Indian news

Popular Stories

Latest Video